Washington state has many rules for drivers. If you’re a new driver or planning to take a course for a license, you should familiarize yourself with all state requirements. You can leverage online and offline schools offering drivers ed in Washington state. Here are the top rules you should know as a driver in Washington:
General Driving & Safety Rules
- Drivers and all occupants must wear seatbelts at all times.
- No use of wireless devices while driving, even with hands-free devices.
- No talking on cellphone or sending/receiving messages.
- Keep children under 13 years in the back seat.
- You must stop a safe distance behind a school bus that has stopped with its red lights flashing.
- Drivers must keep their headlights on between 30 minutes after sunset and 30 minutes before sunrise.
- You must yield right of way to pedestrians and bicyclists at a crosswalk or intersection and emergency vehicles at all points.
- Drivers entering a roundabout must yield right of way to drivers in the cycle.
Turning, Passing, & Freeway Rules
- You must follow the provided indications for turning and passing.
- Drivers who’ve stopped at a red light can make a legal right turn if the lights are still red.
- U-turns can be made when you have a view of at least 500 feetin each direction.
- Passing on any curve when approaching a crest or anywhere other vehicles cannot see you is illegal.
- Follow the ramp-metering signals when entering the freeway to ensure safe merging with traffic.
- When driving a high occupancy vehicle (HOV) with two or more passengers, use lanes marked by white diamonds and signals. If marked HOV 3, the car should contain at least three occupants to legally drive in the lane.
Keeping Your Driving License
You can lose your driver’s license quickly if you don’t follow the Washington rules. Here are some traffic laws to avoid violating if you want to keep your license:
- Driving any automobile under the influence of drugs and alcohol.
- Refusing test for alcohol and drugs when stopped by an officer.
- Leaving the accident scene of a crash in which you’re involved before the police arrive.
- Giving false information during the license application.
- Being part of an accident without having car insurance.
- Using any vehicle to commit a felony.
- Having multiple moving traffic violations on a relatively short driving record.
- Reckless driving and endangerment of other roadway users or workers.
Speed Limits and Rules
When driving, turning, passing, and driving on freeways, observe the speed limits, zonal rules, and other requirements. The Washington speed limits are similar to other states, but you might find differences as you move from flat to mountainous retains. Some zones require specific miles per hour.
General limits include:
- Within City: 25-50 mph
- Undivided Roads (Rural): 55-65 mph
- Divided Roads (Rural): 65-70 mph
- City Freeway: 55-70 mph
- Freeway Outside City: 60-70 mph
Drivers Ed Washington State
Some driving rules and safety requirements involve exceptions. Drivers needn’t stop for a school bus when traveling in the opposite direction. You also don’t have to yield to emergency vehicles if the lights aren’t flashing. Taking a reputable course focusing on drivers ed Washington State is the best way to learn all the rules. The curriculum covers traffic rules, best practices, common offenses and penalties, signs, safety protocols, and more.